Thanks for using Discover Murray River

Chaffey Story Further LInks - Mildura's Chaffey Trail

The Chaffey Trail Home

1. The Old Mildura Station Homestead
2. Mildura Homestead Cemetery
3. Rio Vista Historic House
4. Lock 11 & Mildura Weir
5. Mildura Wharf
6. Mildura Grand Hotel
7. Psyche Bend Pump Station
8. Chateau Mildura
9. Merbein
10. Further Links of the Chaffey Story
11. The Chaffey Trail Map

Further links of the Chaffey Story


Deakin Avenue

The Mildura township was mapped out on the lines of the successful Chaffey irrigation colony of Ontario in California. Deakin Avenue was named after Alfred Deakin, the Victorian Cabinet Minister who introduced the concept of an irrigated settlement in Australia to the Chaffeys. The main thoroughfare is straight, broad and long, running from Seventh Street for twelve kilometres southwest. Its centre section, originally reserved for a tramway, is now a landscaped median strip lined with a double row of shade trees planted by W.B. Chaffey himself.


Carnegie Centre

The Carnegie Centre beneath the famous clock tower is now home to the historical and genealogical societies and has within it an enormous amount of historical material. It was however built as the Carnegie Library, so called from Andrew Carnegie’s bequest of two thousand pounds for its construction. For ninety years it was Mildura’s public library until the building of the Alfred Deakin Centre. The addition of the tower, as a memorial to those who fell in the First World War, came in 1922, and the names of those who died are to be found on either side of the front door.


Langtree Hall

A well-known tourist attraction, right near the town centre, 79 Walnut Avenue, the privately owned museum has a stunning collection of district memorabilia. Originally situated in Langtree Avenue, the Langtree Hall was Mildura’s first public hall built in 1889. It was first used as a skating rink, Court of petty sessions, church services, musical nights for dances and concerts, then the “Mildura Telegraph” newspaper printing office, then later as a billiard saloon.
Admission $5 Adults & $4 concession. Open Tuesday to Sunday 10.00am to 4.00pm.
(Closed Christmas Day, New Years Day, Good Friday & Anzac Day)


Settlers Club Mildura

The Settlers Club began its illustrious history in 1893, and early members tended to be professional people and the more successful block owners. Regrettably, after being a great success for so long, it ran into financial difficulties and closed just short of its centenary in 1993. It is now a very successful function centre, and a popular place for having meals and gathering in a convivial atmosphere - as it was when it was the original club. The building is located at the corner of Eighth Street and Orange Avenue.


Mildura Workingmans Club

Some of the more significant members of the Mildura community felt that there was no need for a club for the workers, and (remembering that the community began as a temperance colony) the idea of making alcohol available to pickers was frowned upon. But perseverance paid off and in 1894 the Workingmans Club was born. The first premises were in Madden Avenue, and the present site was acquired in 1908. The building took on a more familiar form in 1935 when the upper floor was added. The war memorial in front was added in 1920. The club became noted in the Guinness Book of Records for having had the world’s longest bar which was removed in recent renovations.


Mildura Club

The Mildura Club’s first president was the remarkable Lord Ranfurly who took the position in 1890. Early meetings were at the Coffee Palace (later the Grand Hotel) until their own premises were built at 29 Deakin Avenue. The present building, at the corner of Deakin Avenue and Ninth Street, was erected in 1920 at a cost of 5500 pounds. The imposing entrance is adorned with Ionic pillars, and the interior retains its period flavour.


1. The Old Mildura Station Homestead2. Mildura Homestead Cemetery3. Rio Vista Historic House
4. Lock 11 & Mildura Weir5. Mildura Wharf6. Mildura Grand Hotel7. Psyche Bend Pump Station8. Chateau Mildura9. Merbein
10. Further Links of the Chaffey StoryThe Chaffey TrailThe Chaffey Trail Map


Tell your friends you found this at!

Copyright Discover Murray 2022. This site or any portion of this site must not be reproduced, duplicated, copied, sold, resold, or otherwise exploited for any commercial purpose that is not expressly permitted by DISCOVER MURRAY.
The Murray River's largest online community and information guide
About Us
About Discover Murray
Privacy Policy
Terms & Conditions
Tourism Marketing
Website Design : Brand Action
Join Discover Murray
Advertise Your Business
Contact Us
Send an Email to Operators
Register a Free User Account
Submit an Event for Free
Check These Out
Kayak and Canoeing
Murray River Events & Festivals
Water Level Updates
Murray Darling Basin
About the Murray River
Houseboats for Sale
Murray River Towns
See All Murray Mallee Towns
Albury Wodonga (NSW/VIC)
Yarrawonga Mulwala (VIC/NSW)
Echuca Moama (VIC/NSW)
Swan Hill (VIC)
Mildura (VIC)
Renmark (SA)
Mannum (SA)
Murray Bridge (SA)
Search Discover Murray

Discover Murray River
© 1998 - 2022 Discover Murray River