Discover Murray River
Discover Murray River
Thanks for using Discover Murray River

Tyntyndyer Homestead, Swan Hill built 1846

An authentic and fascinating insight into early Australian history

Private Homestead - closed


Rare and unique collections of pioneer memorabilia
and Aboriginal artifacts

Traditional land of the Watti Watti people

The Tyntyndyer Plains, stretching along the Victorian banks of the mighty Milloo (Murray River) was home to the Watti Watti people for thousands of years. Their homes were built of bark and mud, miamia's and they farmed the land. Native grass seeds and nardoo were harvested and ground for flour, stubble was burnt and lush regrowth attracted grazing stock - kangaroos and emu. Fish nets were woven from the fibrous roots of reeds and quandong, the native fruit, was harvested and dried. reeds, for spears, and possum skins were traded for green stone, used for axes.

Major Mitchell arrived at 'Matakupa' in 1836 and named the area Swan Hill. In 1846 the Beverage brothers travelled from Kilmore by bullock dray and settled on 300 square miles of land. The property retained the name of these rich grass plains and became known as Tyntyndery Station.

The construction of the homestead, of drop log cabin cabin of Murray Pine, was commenced in that year. Bricked over in 1850, with had made bricks, this has been classified as the first brick veneer in Australia. The homestead was completed in 1854 with a solid brick extension and in 1860 roof iron, brought from Glasgow, was placed over the stringy bark shingles.

The Holloway family purchased the property in 1876 and it remained as their family home for four generations, 120 years.

In 1996 the property, then reduced to 160 acres, was purchased by the descendants of the traditional land owners.

The homestead, furnishings, collections and artifacts have all remained intact and now offer an excellent, authentic and fascinating insight into early colonial days.

Homestead contained

  • Wonderful inventions that remained at Tyntyndyer from the early settlers
  • Cellar - filled with an amazing collection of Aboriginal artifacts and curios from indigenous cultures around the world - protected under the custodianship of the Watti Watti people
  • Chock log cabin kitchen - floor to ceiling full of bric-a-brac and pioneer memorabilia (1854)
  • Enter the schoolhouse and tutor room (1854) and see the assorted collections of sewing samplers, school work and early photographic equipment
  • "Tyntynder" is the Aboriginal name of the area and means "song of the birds" and true to it's name the quiet gardens and huge trees which shade the homestead today play host to a variety of beautiful native birds (garden established in the mid 1800s with assistance from Baron Von Mueller)

Discover Swan Hill


 



Tell your friends you found this at murrayriver.com.au!

Copyright Discover Murray 2017. This site or any portion of this site must not be reproduced, duplicated, copied, sold, resold, or otherwise exploited for any commercial purpose that is not expressly permitted by DISCOVER MURRAY.

The Murray River's largest online community and information guide

About Us
About Discover Murray
Privacy Policy
Terms & Conditions
Tourism Marketing
Website Design : Brand Action
Join Discover Murray
Advertise Your Business
Contact Us
Send an Email to Operators
Register a Free User Account
Submit an Event for Free
Check These Out
Accommodation
Houseboats
Kayak and Canoeing
Murray River Events & Festivals
Water Level Updates
Murray Darling Basin
About the Murray River
Houseboats for Sale
Murray River Towns
See All Murray Mallee Towns
Albury Wodonga (NSW/VIC)
Yarrawonga Mulwala (VIC/NSW)
Echuca Moama (VIC/NSW)
Swan Hill (VIC)
Mildura (VIC)
Renmark (SA)
Mannum (SA)
Murray Bridge (SA)
Search Discover Murray

Discover Murray River
© 1998 - 2017 Discover Murray River